The Philippines

My 10 days in the Philippines was relaxing as I hung out by the beach and explored the surrounding areas. The wifi on the island was crap  which is why I have decided to create only 1 post. 

I arrived into Puerto Princesa, Palawan very early after a long journey from south Cambodia. Before I even landed I was blown away by the mountainous landscape and the blue waters. After taking a day to relax and walk around the city I arranged a bus to take me to northern Palawan – a town called El Nido. 

   

view from the room
 
The best way to see the sights around El Nido is by renting a bike and joining the island hopping tours. 
After getting heaps of rain during the motor bike excursion my goal of visiting Nacpan beach became less attainable. Instead I went down to Corong Corong beach, enjoyed a delicious lunch and then eventually headed back to El Nido. 

   
 
The follow day I set out on island hopping tour A. While I wanted to sign up for tour C the angry typhoon prevented me from doing so. Nonetheless tour A was incredible and include a visit to a couple of lagoons, a lot of snorkelling in the clearest water, followed by a kayak excursion. This was a fantastic experience and was definitely one of the highlights of the trip.

   
    
   

Another great highlight was the zip line! It’s set up so that you zip line from Corong Corong beach to the neighbouring island. While the winds were on the strong side, I still managed to go pretty fast while flying over the ocean. 

After spending a few raining days hanging out in El Nido I ventured back south to the town of Sabang. This is home of the famous underground river. With the rupturing typhoon, taking a boat to the underground river was not an option. Instead our group hiked 5-6 km through the jungle which was an incredible experience on its own. The cave that housed the underground river was impressive and massive. Some ceilings reached over 65 feet and incorporated a lot of interesting rock formations. These rock formations occurred over thousands of years and have grown to be quite large. 

     

  

  

  
  
Following the tour the rest of the day was spent relaxing, reading and eating.  

   
 
One thing I loved about the Philippines was the hospitality and kindness of the locals. Everyone was very helpful all over the island and made me feel right at home. The locals always said hello and never put you in awkward sales situations. While I encountered this in the other countries I visited, I found the Filipinos very laid back and genuine. 

After heading back to Puerto Princesa I began my journey to my final destination – South Korea. 

It’s sad to think my travels are soon coming to an end, however so far this has been an incredibly rich experience that has taught me a lot about this beautiful would we live in. 

Leave a comment